Book List 2016 (Sept-Dec)

Two thousand sixteen is my year of working, reading books and grappling with applications. I’ve not had a book list before so this one’s quite a surprise. But I’ve been re-arranging my cupboard, optimizing my bus routes and sticking my pictures up on my wall and life is getting a lot more organized this way. I want to try and be disciplined with my reading. I stopped reading for quite a long time during my college years and I don’t want that kind of break to come again. I have a lot of books I want to read but haven’t yet picked it up for some reason or another. So here is a list of 10 books, I want to finish devouring quite soon.

IMG_20160829_000303

1. Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway – which I found in an old bookstore. A hardback with rust colored lovely brisk pages. I avoid stories set during the World War times, which is why I want to push myself through this.

2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – I can’t believe I haven’t already read it. For years, this book has managed to evade me.

3. Emma by Jane Austen – I watched the movie and that was a big mistake. I simply do not feel like reading the book after I have seen the movie and know the twists and turns to be expected. But I love Austen’s writing style and I cannot wait to consume more of it.(Or Northanger Abbey)

4. The Art of Thinking Clearly by Rolf Dobelli – He has 99 chapters in that book with small insights and lessons of times when we make logical errors. I bet I can find atleast one recent instance corresponding to each of those errors.

5. The Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut – Because I adore the name. And I admire Vonnegut’s sardonic wit.

6. My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell – This is an an autobiographical account written by Gerald Durrell about the time of his childhood that he spent in the Greek island of Corfu between 1935-1939. It is going to be simply fascinating!

7. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White – It is a children’s novel, which is the best kind I like. My favourite books are children’s novels.

8. Silence by Thich Nhat Nanh – A friend of mine recommended this to me and the introduction was quite wonderful. But it’s not much of a page-turner for me.

9. East of Eden by John Steinbeck – This is his magnum opus and I have read it halfway but never got around to completing it. It’s time I do. πŸ™‚

10. New Poems of Emily Dickinson by Emily Dickinson – This was up in contest with Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman but I have more often enjoyed reading poems written by notable female writers.

 

 

 

One thought on “Book List 2016 (Sept-Dec)

Leave a Reply

