The most massive book haul | Ahmedabad National Book Fair

I went to the Ahmedabad National Book Fair today which happens once a year and you can buy all sorts of mass market paperbacks for really subsidised prices. They generally do not have a very select collection and only sell books by the mega-popular authors (Dan Brown, Jodi Picoult, Stephenie Meyer, Danielle Stelle.. Do you get my drift?). So finding a really good book for me as someone who is not a fan of them was very much like digging for hidden treasures in arid desert land. Most stalls sold books for a 100 Rs each or 3 books or even 5 books for a 100 Rs, so I thought, why not go slightly berserk? I dug out 42 books that I was more or less interested in and made myself a very happy person today. I do wish there were a wider choice in the kind of books and diversity in the authors but nonetheless, it was probably worth the buck.

Buying forty two books has one advantage:
(1) they will last a long long time and some of them sound very interesting.

But, at the same time, it had 3 painful disadvantages:
(1) These were WAY more books than I could carry.
(2) I realised after reaching home, that I do not have any shelf space left.
(3) People, including my family, basically eyed me as if I had gone completely insane.

These are the books I’ve got (all of them are second hand). I’ve cleaned them, perfumed them (yeah .. .. don’t judge, old book smell and dust make me sneeze endlessly), catalogued them and divided them into categories. So let’s get into it!

Starting off with – Books I’m really excited to read!

  1. The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
  2. Middlemarch by George Eliot (I’ve already read a sizable chunk of this and it is terrific.)
  3. Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  4. Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thakeray
  5. Martin Chuzzlewit by Charles Dickens
  6. Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens
  7. Sons and Lovers by D.H.Lawrence
  8. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

The books that are slightly bizarre and interesting:

  1. A short history of Tractors in Ukranian by Marina Lewycka
  2. The book of laughter and forgetting by Milan Kundera
  3. Captain Corelli’s Mandorin by Louis Bernieres
  4. Salmon Fishing in the Yemen by Paul Torday
  5. Bread, Jam and a borrowed Pram by Dot Mary Dunn
  6. The Regency Rules by Lauren Henderson
  7. Menagerie Manor by Gerald Durrell

Books that are my bedtime comfort food (light reads):

  1. The two and a half pillars of wisdom by Alexander McCall Smith
  2. The Unbearable Lightness of Scones by Alexander McCall Smith
  3. Tea Time for the Traditionally built by Alexander McCall Smith
  4. A place called here by Cecelia Ahern
  5. Shopaholic and sister by Sophie Kinsella.
  6. Comfort and Joy by India Knight
  7. Love Over Scotland by Alexander McCall Smith
  8. Underworld by Meg Cabot

Books I’m taking a chance on (I have no idea how these will turn out..):

  1. Hot Tea Across India by Rishad Saam Mehta
  2. Lady’s Maid by Margaret Foster
  3. Number Ten by Sue Townsend
  4. Daughters of Strathannan by Anne Vivis
  5. Songs in Ordinary Time by Mary McGarry Morris
  6. Saving Grace by Jane Green
  7. Jam And Roses by Mary Gibson
  8. Baudolino by Umberto Eco
  9. Swallows and Amazon by Arthur Ransome
  10. Charming Billy by Alice McDermott

Books that I am relatively less interested in reading:

  1. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter
  2. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  3. Notes from a big country by Bill Bryson
  4. A walk in the woods by Bill Bryson
  5. Day Scholar by Siddhartha Chowdhury
  6. The curious incident of the dog in the night time by Mark Haddon
  7. Hard Times by Charles Dickens

Book that I bought by mistake (I only found out I had it after I came home and unpacked!): 41. Tears of the Giraffe by Alexander McCall Smith

Book I need to finish reading at some point in my life: 42. Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

Happy reading everyone!

P.s. – Here’s all the space I made under my bedside drawer to hold my blanket and books. The two things that keep me warm.

IMG-20170503-WA0017

Leave a Reply

