Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t.

I woke up today thinking about all the delicious books on my shelves that are still sitting, waiting to be read. (And then reality hit me as I remembered the big CS textbooks I need to be finishing, but nevermind that). Who doesn’t love a good booklist? I certainly do. This post is about the ten book series that I’ve been meaning to read, but haven’t yet. Let’s do a bit of revision of the TBR shelf, shall we?

toptentuesday

Click the image for the link back to the original Top Ten Tuesday lists hosted by The Broke And The Bookish! They are wonderful.

  1. Anne of The Green Gables series by L.M.Montgomery – I’ve read Anne of Green Gables a number of times now and I have vague recollections of reading Anne of Avonlea in my childhood. But I need to read the other 6 books in this series. There are some books, which before you even starting reading them, it’s decided that you are going to absolutely adore them and this series is one of them.anne-of-the-island-9781442490048_hr
  2. The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb – I’ve been reading The Rain Wild Chronicles by Hobb and I’m absolutely enjoying it. I’ve read that the best reading experience with Robin Hobb’s books comes when you read them in this order – The Farseer Trilogy. Liveship Traders Trilogy. The Tawny Man Trilogy. The Rain Wild Chronicles. The Fitz and the Fool Trilogy. Other Elderlings novels. I hope I will jump back to the Farseer Trilogy after finishing Rain Wild Chronicles and then follow the order. She is an amazing author and I’m surprised I did not hear about her ages before (Been living under a rock or what!?).

    big000648011x
  3. The Kingkiller Chronicle by Patrick Rothfuss – I’ve heard so many good things about this book from so many people and I’m itching to read this!the_name_of_the_wind_cover_
  4. Temeraire by Naomi Novik – I read the first book when I was a child and I loved it. I generally love most book about dragons, so hey, not a surprise. I did not realize this then but the novel is not only a work of fantasy but also an alternate history. It’s “a re-imagining of the epic events of the Napoleonic Wars with an air forceβ€”an air force of dragons, manned by crews of aviators”. Sounds like it’s right up my alley!81uXst-yuXL.__BG0,0,0,0_FMpng_AC_UL320_SR210,320_.jpg.png
  5. A Great and Terribly Beauty by Gemma Doyle – This is the kind of book you can binge read on after finishing your dreaded finals. It’s historical fiction, fantasy and a dose of chick lit, all of this set in a boarding school for educating girls.3682
  6. 44 Scotland Street book series by Alexander McCall Smith – I’ve read the first book in this series and it was delectable. Looking forward to savouring the rest. I had taken The Sunday Philosophy Club book by Smith from a bookstore during my flying-solo visit to Montreal. I had bought it as a sacred keepsake to remember this trip (Smith is a Canadian author and I hadn’t heard of him before- it seemed appropriate). Let’s just say this author now holds a special place in my heart and is inextricably linked to the memories of the place and the visit.61hvidI6KLL._SY400_
  7. Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson – So many fantasy books in this Top Ten list! But then most book series are from the fantasy genre. Here’s another one.index.jpeg
  8. Chalet School by Elinor Brent-DyerΒ  – My childhood cannot be sufficiently described without the mention of the famous five books, the St.Clares books, Mallory Towers, the Adventure series and here’s another of the likes! I haven’t read these but it’s definitely going to be so much fun.1175227
  9. The MaddAddam Series by Margaret AtwoodI’ve read two of Margaret Atwood’s works and she is absolutely brilliant. One of my favourite authors of all time. I can’t wait to read these- especially Oryx and Crake.ioryx.jpeg
  10. The Jeeves Series by P.G.Wodehouse – I’ve read two of these – Thank You, Jeeves and Right Ho, Jeeves. They were thoroughly delightful and had me chuckling so loud. I am just waiting to get my hands on all of these gems!9862342So these are my Top Ten Series that I need to read and haven’t yet. Thank you for reading and happy reading everyone!
    What series do you need to start/continue/finish?
One thought on “Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t.

  1. Oh, please do read Anne! I’ve heard of her since I was 9 but didn’t get to read the first until I was in my late twenties, and it was still quite magical.

    I remember reading A Great and Terrible Beauty, but I cannot even remember what it was about. I’m pretty sure I’ve read at least two books in the series though (possibly even the third). Sanderson’s Mistborn is such an easy read, very MG language with incredible world building! Kind of the complete opposite of Rothfuss, who tends to warble on and on…but it was still a fun read. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

